Khavn De La Cruz (Philippines)

Khavn De La Cruz is a very outspoken, experimental film maker with an unstoppable desire to explore and cross boundaries. He has made twenty-three features and more than seventy short films, most of which have received prizes, given retrospectives, and presented in international film festivals. He has served as a jury member in the Clermont-Ferrand (France), Copenhagen (Denmark), Jeonju (Korea), Jihlava (Czech Republic), & Berlinale (Germany) film festivals. He is the president of the independent film company Filmless Films and the festival director of .MOV, the first digital film festival in the Philippines.
Besides of being film maker, Khavn also writes poetry and fiction and composes music. His books of poetry and fiction are published by the University of Santo Tomas Publishing and the University of the Philippines Press, among them is Ultraviolins, the first postmodern book of stories in Filipino. Khavn is an acclaimed composer, songwriter, singer & pianist who has performed all over the world and has made several albums, including soundtracks for internationally-renowned films. He has written & composed several rock operas staged at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the Tanghalang Ateneo. He is the bandleader of The Brockas and has also been part of the jury of the Awit Awards.
Khavn owned and managed Oracafe, a cultural hub for Philippine writers, musicians, filmmakers, and other artists in the late 90s.


Amen: A Brown Comedy (15´, Philippines, 2002)
Mondomanila (15´, Philippines, 2004)
Headless (Pugot) (70´, Philippines, 2004)
Nakalimutan ko na/ I´ve Forgotten (Philippines, 2005)
Can and Slippers (5´, Philippines, 2005)
Ang pamilyang kumakain ng lupa/ The Family That Eats Soil (75´, Philippines, 2005)
Toxic Mango (5´, Philippines, 2006)
Rugby Boyz (8´, Philippines, 2006)
Paalam aking bulalakaw/ Goodbye My Shooting Star (85´, Philippines, 2006)
Our Daily Bread (3´, Philippines, 2006)
By the Suez Canal (2´, Philippines, 2007)
Iskwaterpangk/ Squatterpunk (79´, Philippines, 2007)
Nothing Funnier Than Unhappiness (5´, Philippines, 2007)
3 Days of Darkness (Philippines, 2007)
Namamasko po/ Christmas Alms (5´, Philippines, 2008)
Literature (7´, Philippines, 2008)
Kulob 34 (41´, Philippines, 2008)
Ang dagat na nalulunod/ The Drowning Sea (6´, Philippines, 2008)
Philippine Bliss (80´, Philippines, 2008)
The Muzzled Horse of an Engineer in Search of Mechanical Saddles (80´, Philippines, 2008)
Ultimo: Distintas maneras a matar un heroe nacional (6´, Philippines, 2008)
Maynila sa mga pangil ng dilim/ Manila in the Fangs of Darkness (72´,Philippines, 2008)
Day tingnga ti misteryo ti Kristo Negro/ The Middle Mystery of Kristo Negro (70´, Philippines, 2009)
Pamilya Kariton/ The Pushcart Family (4´, Philippines, 2009)
Blackworms (5´, Philippines, 2009)
Cameroon Love Letter (For Solo Piano) (70´, Philippines/ Cameroon, 2010)
Son of God (80', Phillipines, 2010)
The Trials of Mister Serapio (Phillipines, 2010)
Mondomanila, or: How I Fixed My Hair After a Rather Long Journey (75', Philipines, 2010)
The One and Only Concert of the Amazing Combo of Kommander Kulas and His Poor Carabao in the Long and Unwinding Road of Kamyas (Philipines, 2011)
Breather (Philippines, 2011)
Kalakala (71', Philipines, 2012)
Ruined Heart! Another Love Story Between a Criminal and a Whore (15', Philipines, 2012)
Solar Syokoy (4', Philipines, 2012)
EDSA XXX: Nothing Ever Changes in the Ever-Changing Republic of Ek-Ek-Ek (Philipines, 2012)
Misericordia: The Last Mystery of Kristo Vampiro (70', Philipines, 2013)


Doc Alliance Members

Doc Alliance is a creative partnership of 7 key European documentary film festivals. Our aim is to advance the documentary genre, support its diversity and promote quality creative documentary films.