Věra Chytilová (Czech Republic)

Věra Chytilová (2 February 1929 – 12 March 2014) was an avant-garde Czech film director and pioneer of Czech cinema. Banned by the Czechoslovak government in the 1960s, she is best known for her Czech New Wave film, Sedmikrásky (Daisies). Vlčí bouda (1987) was entered into the 37th Berlin International Film Festival and Tainted Horseplay (1989) was entered into the 16th Moscow International Film Festival and The Inheritance or Fuckoffguysgoodday (1992) was entered into the 18th Moscow International Film Festival. For her work, she received the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, Medal of Merit and the Czech Lion award.

1961 The Ceiling
1962 A Bagful of Fleas
1963 Something Different
1965 "At the World Cafeteria" in Pearls of the Deep
1966 Sedmikrásky (Daisies)
1969 Ovoce stromů rajských jíme (Fruit of Paradise)
1976 The Apple Game
1978 Inexorable Time
1979 Pretas Story
1981 Calamity
1981 Panelstory
1981 Chytilová Versus Forman − Consciousness of Continuity
1983 Faunovo velmi pozdní odpoledne (The Very Late Afternoon of the Faun)
1984 Prague: The Troubled Heart of Europe
1986 Vlčí bouda (Wolf's Hole)
1987 Šašek a královna (The Jester and the Queen)
1988 Kopytem sem, kopytem tam (Tainted Horseplay)
1990 Tomas Garrigue Masaryk a Liberator
1991 My Citizens of Prague Understand Me
1992 Dědictví aneb Kurvahošigutntag (The Inheritance or Fuckoffguysgoodbye)
1998 Trap, Trap, Little Trap
2000 Flights and Falls
2001 Exile from Paradise
2005 Patrani po Ester
2006 Hezké chvilky bez záruky (Pleasant Memories)

Doc Alliance Members

Doc Alliance is a creative partnership of 7 key European documentary film festivals. Our aim is to advance the documentary genre, support its diversity and promote quality creative documentary films.