Scene from the film Occupation 1968 / EN
Scene from the film Occupation 1968 / EN
Scene from the film Occupation 1968 / EN
Scene from the film Occupation 1968 / EN
Scene from the film Occupation 1968 / EN
Share via
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Occupation 1968 / EN

  • Slovakia
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
  • Poland

Occupation 1968 centres around the Soviet Union’s occupation, also known as the Warsaw Pact invasion, of Czechoslovakia in August 1968. The documentary is told from the perspective of the soldiers from the countries that made up the Warsaw Pact. The five countries made up the Warsaw Pact were, the Soviet Union, Poland, Bulgaria, East Germany and Hungary, the documentary is therefore split into five short films, one for each nation. Each film looks at the soldiers who were involved in the invasion and their lives 50 years on, focusing on the extent of their involvement and their reflections on invading, what was generally thought to be at the time, an allied nation.

The five short films are anchored through the event of the occupation, but also around the question of how individual accountability can be measured in the face of authoritarian state coercion. Occupation 1968 provides a valuable look at a poignant moment in history, while also posing important questions for our current social malaise, as the agency of the individual is currently being questioned globally in the face of what appears to be the overpowering forces of big business, political elites, and climate change.

This film is not currently online :(

Sorry, this film is not available in your country.

Details is powered by Doc Alliance, a creative partnership of 7 key European documentary film festivals. Our aim is to advance the documentary genre, support its diversity and promote quality creative documentary films.

Doc Alliance Members

Join to get regular updates on our film program:

By sending the registration for the Newsletter, I consent to receiving commercial communications through electronic means and to related personal data processing required for the purposes of sending the Newsletter of Doc-Air Distribution s.r.o. I confirm having read the Principles of Personal Data Processing, understanding the text and consenting to the same, while I acknowledge the rights specified herein, including, without limitation, the right to submit objections against direct marketing techniques.

Poslat svému Junioru